New member :)

Hi everyone !
I’m Alexis aka Alkoou. I am a medecine student and I love computer science ( I’m an experimented c++ and python programmer ). But I think that I could be much helpful in theory team as I studied biology, cells development …
I really enjoyed the concept of this game so I wanted to contribute as best as I can.
Anyway I don’t really know in which area you need me, so any advice on where or how I can help would be very much appreciated :wink:

2 Likes

Welcome to the team Alkoou! :smiley:
The most noticeable system of the theory team is the CPA system (which stands for compounds, processes ans auto-evo), which is the thing that will make the celks evolve according to the enviroment.
Other topics include the process system (which i finished recently but probably needs a lot of tweaking), the ai, the planet generation and the thermosynthesis mechanics.

I just had a question about the game :
It is based on the theory that life has been brought to earth by some sort of meteoroid but currently the most popular theory is the primordial soup. Do you think panspermia is the most credible theory and do you want to keep it in the game ?
If not, I have some ideas of gameplay for abiogenesis and protocells …

I don’t think we set any theory about the creation of life in the game (the default microbe is an eukaryote, which would place it way after those events)

Plus based on this quote on the game’s FAQ i don’t think panspermia is a very popular hypothesis around here xD
"Please note that ideas with little gameplay value or no scientific basis are extremely likely to be immediately refuted, so think twice before suggesting space-faring microbes."

Right now the first stage is the cell stage, which starts off roughly when the first actual cells have evolved. I think there’s been some talk about a potential 0th stage about the very beginning of life, but I don’t think we are planning on adding that.