Mygas' Introduction

Hi everyone!

My name’s Mygas (pronounced My-gus) and I recently was invited to join this cool looking project by tjwhale. To be honest, I’m a bit overwhelmed by the amount of information already available on the project and am having a bit of trouble identifying what the first thing I can work on really is. Until I can really dig into absorbing everything I’m hoping this introduction will give enough of my background that some other team member’s might suggest a specific area to start looking.

I currently work as a Senior Systems Engineer in the avionics industry; coordinating and developing safety critical software products. I’ve got experience in Ada, C, C++, and Java, as well as a number of scripting languages. Probably half of my day-to-day job is project management (a critical component of our industry), and the other half is design and development, so from these areas I may be able to support the Programming team or the Project Management team.

My college background is in Aerospace engineering with a specialization in propulsion as well as a minor in mathematics. From what I’ve read, Thrive will eventually have a space-faring portion of game-play; something I feel I’ll be able to help tremulously on when we get there. (e.g. Orbital mechanics, propulsion system design, etc.) For the current stage of gameplay, I may be able to help in areas of fluid dynamics (air, my background, is just another fluid as far as the theory is concerned) or structural mechanics, though I have a feeling there’s not a lot of these in the microbe stage. Obviously this background lends itself to the Theory team.