New Member - 3D Modeler

Hello everyone! My name is Connor and I have just been added to the team. I am a 3D Modeler, but have limited experience in both Python and C#. I do intend to learn more programming in the near future so I can be part of both the Graphics and Programming teams. I have already created low res models of all the necessary internal Organelles, including the endoplasmic reticulum.

This is a rough version of what I expect the Golgi Apparatus and Endoplasmic Reticulum will look like in game. It obviously needs cleaner textures and the Golgi Apparatus needs to be subdivided, but doing the latter would put the poly count well over 1000.

This short video is just a render of a low poly cell I animated, it includes a nucleus, vacuole, 2 mitochondria, and 2 chloroplasts. All of the organelles are fully animated and have low res textures.

Also, for anyone interested, here are some links for a game I made when I was 16, Stickaboom.The first link is the game itself, the second is a cheat version that unlocks everything for you from the start.

The regular version:

The hacked Version:

Please let me know if any of the organelles I have started have already been made, that way I don’t waste time optimizing their textures and meshes.

I look forward to meeting everyone else on the team!

2 Likes

Cell Animation

I don’t think the forums like my video, so here’s a link to it in my dropbox.

Welcome, Connor!

You could put it on youtube, then we can also add it to playlists of prototypes or whatever too :smile:

I think the low poly-count on the golgi there is alright – it’s very crisp and easy to recognize (which is important), but maybe I just like the art style. It definitely has more personality than a lot of the other models people have made for us (though of course, they’re generally aiming for realism, which we, without a unified idea on art style, usually had as our only constraint).