HyperbolicHadron - New Programmer

Hello everyone,

My name is Joshua, but I go by the username HyperbolicHadron on the Thrive Discord. My background is mainly in computer hardware and FPGA design in Verilog, but I have experience programming in C, Java, and to a lesser extent C++.

My main interests in Thrive lie in the simulation and development of large civilizations as would be typical for the Society, Industrial, and Space stages. I intend to help build out the features of the game that will allow others to develop more parts of the later stages in depth, and creating a complete world generation system is the task that I have selected to work on.
I began researching and prototyping different aspects of the world generator on my own before joining the development team, and I think that I now have enough experience to start discussing the design of the world generator in more depth here on the forums. There is still quite a ways to go before any version of the world generator can be integrated into the game, but I think that now is the perfect time to start the creation of detailed specifications and roadmaps for the world generation system.

I will be writing up my current thoughts on the world generation system design ‘soon’ and will continue to work on various prototypes of world generation and other related systems meanwhile.

Anyway, thanks to everyone who has helped bring the game to its current state, and especially hhyyrylainen for his recent development on the higher stage prototypes, as that has definitely been a major factor in motivating me to work on this area. Looking at the direction this project is going I feel that it has a very good future ahead of it!

6 Likes

Happy to finally be able to talk to you on the dev forums :slight_smile: