New Programmer/Musican/Tester

About Me
Hello, My name is Jonathon Owens. I am a self taught programmer and musician, and avid gamer. I started learning C# when I was 13 (from a guy I met on runescape) because it seemed cool too me and I never really expected to be here 14 years later. I’ve honestly struggled with feeling validated as a programmer, as I have no real professional experience and my biggest project is a minecraft overhaul mod which I’ve put several years into; So it’s absolutely amazing to have my talents acknowledged here.

When I first saw Thrive I was like wow, this is good, it’s like spore for grown ups, and when I found out it was open source I knew I wanted to get involved but it wasn’t until my friend who introduced me to Thrive; Who subsequently got a degree in programming told me to no sell myself short as a programmer. So here I am, and I hope I can be of help.

Skills
Programmer/Game Logic - My main focus will probably on code as I feel it’s most needed right now. I have a strong grasp on game logic, efficient code.

Musician - I’ve been playing guitar for about as long as I’ve been coding, however; I can be considered a professional here as I have been employed by Guitar Center as an instructor. I also can play bass, drums, piano, and flute. I also have pretty good recording equipment as well.
My Soundcloud - These are a bit older, I have newer equipment now, but these are my original works.

Tester - I play alot of games, and I also regularly debug my mod project so I know what to look for in game testing. Once I get more familiar with the code base I feel like I will also be able to help out by finding bugs and pointing to the appropriate place in code or just outright submitting a PR to fix it.

Wrapping Up
That’s about it for my tangent of an introduction. I’m happy to be here, and look forward to helping this game grow!

5 Likes